news

 

Tony Dekker of Great Lake Swimmers Releases Solo Album and Announces Canadian Tour

2013.09.06

 

  

Songwriter Tony Dekker is taking a short break from fronting his critically acclaimed band Great Lake Swimmers to release a solo album called Prayer of the Woods, which will be released on October 8 in North America and is available for pre-order now on https://itunes.apple.com/ca/album/prayer-of-the-woods/id684994419?s=143455 (available in Europe/UK/GSA in November).

Prayer of the Woods
, which Dekker refers to as a “musical interlude” between Great Lake Swimmers albums, features 10 tracks: 8 new and original songs as well as covers of "Land of the Glass Pinecones" by '80s new wave act Human Sexual Response and "Carefree Highway" by Gordon Lightfoot.

Preview tracks from the album at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=68YHj6LW7Ks&feature=youtu.be 

Tony Dekker has announced tour dates in Canada this fall to support the upcoming album release. See below for full tour listing. 

 
Tony Dekker will also be going with WWF-Canada (World Wildlife Fund) on a trip this month to the Great Bear region on the north coast of British Columbia. The Great Bear is a Canadian ecological treasure, one of the richest and most spectacular ecosystems on earth and home to the rare white Spirit Bear.
 
For the past year, it has been at the centre of a high profile national debate about the Northern Gateway Project that proposes to build twin oil pipelines from Alberta through the Great Bear, and transport oil across B.C. coastal waters. Tony Dekker is a WWF supporter and advocates for the protection of the region as a Canadian for the Great Bear.
 

Tony Dekker Tour Dates:
 
Thu, September 26 –North Bay ON @ Voyager Inn
Fri, September 27 –Sault Ste. Marie ON @ Cafe Nutura
Sat, September 28 –Thunder Bay ON @ Finlandia Hall
Sun, September 29 –Winnipeg MB @ Folk Exchange
Tues, October 1 –Bruno SK @ The Bruno Arts Bank
Wed, October 2 –Regina SK @ The Artful Dodger Café
Fri, October 4 –Canmore AB @ Communitea Café
Mon, October 7 –Kelowna BC @ Streaming Café
Tues, October 8 –Vancouver BC @ Chapel Arts
Wed, October 9 –Vancouver BC @ Chapel Arts
Sat, October 12 –Slocan BC @ Little Slocan Lodge
Wed, October 16 –Saskatoon SK @ The Bassment
Mon, October 21 –Sharbot Lake ON @ Sharbot Lake Country Inn
Tues, October 22 –Wakefield QC @ Black Sheep Inn
Thu, October 23 –Montreal QC @ Le Cagibi
Sat, October 26 –Halifax NS @ St. Matthew’s United Church – HALIFAX POP EXPLOSION
Sun, October 27 –Miramichi NB @ The Miramichi’s Home Concert
  
Please visit: http://www.greatlakeswimmers.com/shows/  for more details.

Bookmark and Share