Happy release day to Toronto surf rockers’ Chairmen Of The Boards whose debut album is now available on vinyl, CD and all digital platforms today. SURFIN’ THE APOCALYPSE is an epic ride guaranteed to unleash your inner Spicoli and get you through the winter. Buy it at these links:Digital/CD or LP As heard on CBC Music’s The Strombo Show! “The title track, ‘Surfin’ The Apocalypse,’ which just may be the soundtrack to 2020, has me shaking my shoulders and shuffling my feet every time I play it.” – The Rockin’ Magpie “If you appreciate raw rock and roll with


Thermal wet suit?  Right.  Maybe next year.  With winter closing in, surf rock trio Chairmen Of The Boards are here to keep the warm summer time vibes alive on your jukebox.     We are excited to open up pre-ordering on Friday November 6th for our upcoming full length debut release “Surfin’ The Apocalypse” on (weewerk).   You have the choice of limited run vinyl LP, CD or digital download. If CD’s are your thing, we have good news, they are already available to ship!  So you won’t have to wait and can have it in your hands before the official


In days of uncertainty, moments of frustration, and ongoing confusion – here’s to the magical nights.  It’s new moon time.  And Halloween is right around the corner.   MOONLIGHT BEACH is the third single from surf rock trio CHAIRMEN OF THE BOARDS’ forthcoming full length debut SURFIN’ ON THE APOCALYPSE out November 27th on (weewerk).   Listen to the track and watch the video on Bandcamp:


Toronto surf rockers Chairmen Of The Boards offer another preview of their hotly anticipated debut album Surfin’ The Apocalypse with the track “Run-A-Wave.” The band has also produced their first video to accompany the song, a tribute to Del Shannon’s immortal “Runaway.” “Run-A-Wave” is available now on Bandcamp, ahead of the official release of Surfin’ The Apocalypse on Nov. 27 via (weewerk). The video and band interview can be seen at GIGSoup. the track on iTunes from the band on Bandcamp it on Spotify “Run-A-Wave” proves once again that Chairmen of the Boards are not a typical surf-rock

Great Lake Swimmers At The Festival Of Small Halls, October 25th

Great Lake Swimmers are proud to be part of a re-imagined Festival of Small Halls next month. On October 25 they’ll be playing at Manotick United Church (near Ottawa, Ontario) with limited, distanced seating. All health guidelines and precautions will be followed. Tickets go on sale today (Sept. 24th) at 10:00am EST. Info at:

Re-mastered Digital Releases Of PECOLA, SECRET AGENT & SMALLMOUTH Albums

Thanks to the steady hand and ears of Noah Mintz at Lacquer Channel Mastering, (weewerk) is releasing newly re-mastered digital versions of several early SKULL GEEK and TEENAGE USA RECORDINGS albums from PECOLA, SECRET AGENT and SMALLMOUTH this Friday June 5th. Pecola – Planet Of Ugly – Originally released in 1996 on Skull Geek with comix from Tony “Ratboy” Walsh, this beauty of a 5 song ep clearly demonstrates the musical power and fury of one of my all time favourite Toronto based bands. ttps:// Secret Agent – No Winners, No Losers / Unwilling – Originally released in 1996 on

Great Lake Swimmers & Picastro Postpone European Tour

“We regret to announce that the European solo acoustic tour with Liz Hysen of Picastro has been postponed due to the COVID-19 outbreak. We hope to reschedule for the near future. Like many of our peers who have also had to cancel tour dates, this has dealt a huge economical and emotional blow to everyone involved. If you are inclined, check out our shop which is carrying our latest LPs, and will soon stock the limited Great Lake Swimmers/Picastro split 7″ tour exclusive that was meant to accompany us on this trip. Thanks for your support and understanding and

Great Lake Swimmers / Picastro – European Tour & Split 7″ Single

Great Lake Swimmers & Picastro “Getting To The Heart Of It” with “Where Are You” + “Thursday”Release Date: March 6, 2020 Tony Dekker (Great Lake Swimmers) and Liz Hysen (Picastro) are embarking on a solo acoustic tour as a double bill in Europe in April 2020, to promote their latest releases, The Waves, The Wake (Acoustic), and Exit, respectively. Dekker provides vocal support on Exit, and the two have also recently collaborated on a split 7” record; a double single featuring the new, unreleased tracks Getting To The Heart Of It and Where Are You + Thursday. The physical release

Picastro, "Exit" Album Cover (large)


Picastro, an active force in Toronto’s music scene for over 10 years, released their seventh and newest record “Exit” this past June. Led by vocalist, guitarist and songwriter Liz Hysen, this latest offering features the talents of her band, cellist Nick Storring, synthesis Matthew Ramalo (Khora), and drummer Germaine Liu.  On the albums’ eight songs, Hysen systematically removes herself from her own stories while playing around with the roles and expectation of the creator as the central voice of their artistic output. While the music still sits in continuity with the bands previous work, Hysen relinquishes her role as singer